Gaming Monitors - When it comes to screen resolution, things can get confusing real quick. How could it not? There are lots of resolutions, from qHD, HD, to UHD, but we could classify all of them as HD and get away with it. While this is technically correct, as they are all High Definition, is that all there is to it?

The answer is no. In this post, we will explain each definition briefly. We will start from the lowest resolution and end with the highest. Ready? Let’s start.

Quarter High Definition (qHD)

Quarter High Definition or qHD is a display resolution of 960 x 540 pixels. As a reference, a Full HD is a resolution of 1920 x 1080. A qHD display is a quarter of that, hence the “quarter” in its name.

Standard Definition (SD)

A Standard Definition is a resolution that consists of 720 x 480 pixels. A display with an SD resolution has 480 lines of vertical resolution and an aspect ratio of 4:3. This screen resolution was the standard among earlier consumer electronic displays.

High Definition (HD)

Next, the High Definition or HD resolution. A display with an HD resolution has 1280 x 720 pixels. High Definition is often referred to as HD or 720p HD.

Compared to the SD resolution, the HD resolution produces clearer image and video quality compared to SD. Today, it is widely used in consumer electronic displays. From smartphones, laptops, and monitors to TVs.

Full High Definition (FHD)

Full High Definition or FHD is the next upgrade from HD. Also known as 1080p, this screen resolution consists of 1920 x 1080 pixels. Today, this resolution has become the standard when people talk about screen resolutions.

Quad High Definition (WQHD)

Firstly, note that qHD is not the same as QHD. qHD refers to quarter HD, while QHD refers to Quad HD. But that is the only similarity the two resolutions have. To avoid confusion, QHD is also referred to as WQHD.

Also read : Features to Consider When Shopping for a Gaming Monitor

In terms of pixels, WQHD boasts a total of 2560 x 1440 pixels. It also has an aspect ratio of 16:9, which allows for widescreen content for supported devices. This is where the “W” in WQHD came from.

4K Ultra High Definition (UHD)

4K UHD refers to the resolution of 3840 x 2160 pixels. A 4K display has four times the pixels that an FHD display has. Keep in mind that the market standard 4K (3840 x 2160 pixels with a 16:9 ratio) is technically “just” UHD. It is not true 4K. True 4K has 4096 x 2160 pixels with a 17:9 ratio.

8K Ultra High Definition (8K UHD)

The 8K resolution consists of 7680 x 4320 pixels. The 8K here refers to the horizontal part of the resolution, which is 7,680 pixels. It is also one of the Ultra HD definitions. As a comparison, the 8K resolution has four times as many pixels as 4K UHD and sixteen times as many pixels as FHD.

The higher the resolution is, the clearer the image displayed on the screen. Is a bigger resolution always the better option? Not necessarily. It depends on your needs. Plus, there is a point beyond which our eyes can’t tell the difference between resolutions.